BOOK REVIEW: Where Rainbows End

RATING: StarStarStarStarStar

where-rainbows-end-002

Title: Where Rainbows End (Love, Rosie)

Author: Cecelia Ahern

Genre: Romance, Chick Lit

Language: English

 

Plot:

From naughty children to rebellious teenagers, Rosie and Alex have stuck by each other through thick and thin. But just as as they’re discovering the joys of teenage nights on the town and dating disasters, they’re separated. Alex’s family move from Dublin to America – and Alex goes with them. For good.

Rosie’s lost without him. But on the eve of her departure to join Alex in Boston, Rosie gets news that will change her life forever – and keep her at home in Ireland.

Their magical connection sees them through the ups and downs of each others lives, but neither of them knows whether their friendship can survive the years and miles – or new relationships. And at the back of Rosie’s mind is whether they were meant to be more than just good friends all along. Misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck have kept them apart, but when presented with the ultimate opportunity, will they gamble everything for true love?

*****

Where Rainbows End (also known as Love, Rosie or Rosie Dunne) is Cecelia Ahern’s second book, published in 2004 after her number 1 bestseller P.S. I Love You. The story is told through letters, emails and instant messaging about the ever changing relationship between the two main characters, Rosie Dunne and Alex Stewart. Reading about Rosie and Alex from age 5 to 50, it felt like I knew them their whole lives – which is kind of true.

Cecelia Ahern gave me a sleepless and probably the longest night of my life so far. It’s been so long since I’ve bookbinged a novel for an entire night without even a blink for sleep. I just can’t put it down! Many times I’ve wondered why Cecelia was torturing me. What did I ever do to her? 50 freaking years! Imagine that! But then, love moves in mysterious ways. And yeah, clichè as it may sounds, everything happens for a reason, eventhough sometimes I want to punch fate right straight into its face!

I love Rosie with all my heart. She, along with all the other characters in the story, made me ride in a rollercoaster of emotions all throughout, making me laugh at their witty lines and bawling my eyes out the next moment. But most of the time I want to slap Rosie and twist Alex’s arms in frustration. WHY CAN’T BOTH OF YOU JUST FREAKING CONFESS YOUR BLOODY FEELINGS AND GET OVER IT AND LIVE FREAKING HAPPILY EVER AFTER?

I may sound exaggerated, but Ahern’s work dethroned Jodi Lynn Anderson’s Tiger Lily at the top of my Books-I-Love-And-Hate-At-The-Same-Time list. Maybe because it felt like reading my own story: being a single mom and all, and having a bestfriend (who is also my boyfriend, by the way) named Alex. I just wish I don’t have to wait for another 30 years before I get my happy ending. 😀

P.S. The book already has its movie adaptation shown last 2014, topbilled by Lily Collins and Sam Claflin.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

